automated food

One of the things I’ve been thinking about lately is how to automate the parts of my life that I don’t want to waste brain space on (a la Sherlock Holmes).  The reoccurring thought here is that automating my food rituals would create a lot of freedom for me while also removing some of the things that make my life difficult.

I can’t eat complex carbohydrates.  This means I can’t eat sugar in most of its forms.  While I did really great abstaining for about 6 months (it’s hard to want to eat it when you are made so sick by it that you lose your appetite), I have not done so well lately, and it’s led to a lot of swelling; my stomach rebels by bloating in ways that make me appear 5 months pregnant.  So I’m avoiding sugar–again.  And it really should be a permanent thing.  But when I think about food and what I want to eat, I start weighing whether it is worth it to just have a little sugar.  It’s a slippery slope.

If I make meals routine, I’m likely to avoid some of that by knowing what I’m eating rather than considering choices that include no-no foods.  I can save time because I don’t have to put the thought into a meal, and it would make grocery shopping simpler.  Now I’m not talking about eating the same thing for every meal or even everyday, but rather eating the same meals each week, with the possibility for occasional variation or “kid’s choice” weekend dinners.

However, I want to make breakfast the same, because I’m usually not hungry but need to eat in the morning.  In the interest of time and health, I’ve decided mornings will consist of eggs over veggies with coffee on the side, maybe some fruit.  Since mornings can be hectic and will become more so once I move, I think that starting this routine now will help with creating a true routine once my mornings consist of getting the kids to two schools on opposite sides of a city–one walking, one busing–and then commuting to a neighboring city.  (Yes, I could make life easier if the kids went to neighboring schools or I lived in the city I work in, but these choices were made with great care and for reasons I may explain later.)  I’ve also been working on making my wake up time earlier this morning so I can work on writing and/or workout in the morning versus at night.

Lunches, then, are likely to consist of the same types of things since I’ll be taking lunch to work: meat, veggies, and a starch like sweet potatoes or plantain, possibly a piece of fruit.  I have been taking nearly the same lunch to work for a year now, with very little variation, and I’ve found that it does make life much easier to eat the same thing each day.  It requires no thought in the morning, and I’ve perfected which meals are easy to eat while sitting in an office with limited access to kitchen items.

It’s dinners that have me stumped.  How do I automate dinner to where it’s simple, requires little thought, but doesn’t become boring for everyone in the family?  I’m still pondering this.

Leave a Reply

